Pulitzer Prize

Civil services Current affairs - Pulitzer Prize

Pulitzer Prize


  • A team of four Indian photographers from Reuters news agency — slain photojournalist Danish Siddiqui, Adnan Abidi, Sanna Irshad Mattoo and Amit Dave — have won the 2022 Pulitzer Prize for feature photography for their coverage of the Covid 19 crisis in India.


  • The prizes were established in 1904, as part of Pulitzer’s will, which included a provision for the foundation of the Pulitzer Prizes as an incentive to greatness.
  • Pulitzer only mentioned four journalism awards, four letters and drama honours, one education award, and five trip scholarships.
  • Pulitzer left a $2 million endowment to Columbia University in his will, with one-fourth of the money to be “used to awards or scholarships for the encouragement of public service, public morals, American literature, and the progress of education.”


Indians who have won the award:

  • Indian-American journalist Gobind Behari Lal, a member of the Ghadar Party in America, was the first Indian to receive the Pulitzer Prize for journalism in 1937.
  • He shared the award for reporting with four others for their coverage of science at Harvard University’s tercentenary. In 1969, he was awarded the Padma Bhushan for his postgraduate work at the University of California, Berkeley.
  • In 2003, Mumbai-born Geeta Anand was part of a Wall Street Journal team that won a Pulitzer Prize for corporate corruption reporting, and in 2016, Indian-American Sanghamitra Kalita, then managing editor of the Los Angeles Times, and her team won the Pulitzer in the Breaking News Reporting category for their coverage of the San Bernardino shooting in California in 2015.



Source: THE HINDU.

For more update, click here to join our telegram channel