India to host UNSC meet on counterterrorism

India to host UNSC meet on counterterrorism

For Prelims

The Context

India will host diplomats and officials from all 15 countries of the United Nations Security Council for a special meeting on terrorism, in Delhi and Mumbai in October.

 Members of United Nations Security Council (UNSC)

Permanent members (P5): China, France, Russia, United Kingdom, United States.‍

Non-permanent members: Albania, Brazil, Gabon, Ghana, India, Ireland, Kenya, Mexico, Norway, United Arab Emirates.

The permanent members are the countries that became the winners of the Second world war. They are also the only countries recognised as Nuclear Powers under Non-Proliferation Treaty

How the non-permanent members are selected:

The non-permanent members are elected by the United Nations General Assembly for two-year terms starting on 1 January, with half of them being replaced each year.

A retiring member is not eligible for immediate re-election.

About Counter-Terrorism Committee (CTC)

The Counter-Terrorism Committee (CTC) was established by a Security Council resolution which was adopted in the aftermath of the September 11th terrorist attacks in the United States.

Its mandate is to

CTC has been tasked with monitoring the various countries to ensure they enhance their legal and institutional ability to counter terrorist activities at home, in their regions and around the world, including taking steps to:

  • Criminalize the financing of terrorism
  • Freeze without delay any funds related to persons involved in acts of terrorism
  • Deny all forms of financial support for terrorist groups
  • Suppress the provision of safe haven, sustenance or support for terrorists
  • Share information with other governments on any groups practicing or planning terrorist acts
  • Cooperate with other governments in the investigation, detection, arrest, extradition and prosecution of those involved in such acts
  • Criminalize active and passive assistance for terrorism in domestic law and bring violators to justice.

About Financial Action Task Force (FATF)

  • The Financial Action Task Force (FATF) is the global money laundering and terrorist financing watchdog.
  • FATF was formed by the 1989 G7 Summit in Paris initially to examine and develop measures to combat money laundering.

Members of FATF

39 countries/organisations are members of FATF

Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, China, Denmark, European Commission, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Gulf Co-operation Council, Hong Kong, China, Iceland, India, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Luxembourg, Malaysia, Mexico, Kingdom of Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Russian Federation, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Türkiye, United Kingdom, United States.

Indonesia is given observer status