Shanghai Cooperation Organisation

Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO)

#GS-02 International Relations

For Prelims

Shanghai Cooperation Organisation (SCO)

  • Shanghai Cooperation Organisation is a permanent intergovernmental international organization for regional security.
  • SCO was created in 2001 after Uzbekistan joined the Shanghai Five which was constituted by Kazakhstan, China, Kyrgyzstan, Russia and Tajikistan.
  • India and Pakistan joined the grouping in 2017, Iran joined the grouping in 2022 at the Samarkand summit while Belarus has applied for membership.
  • Headquarters of SCO is located at Beijing, China.
  • The 9 Member States are China, India, Iran, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Pakistan. Tajikistan, Uzbekistan


For Mains

Significance of the SCO Summit

  • India will be hosting the SCO summit in June 2023 which has gained significance as they will bring the Pakistani leadership to India after a decade.
  • This along with the G-20 summit will bring the Chinese and Russian leadership to India as well.
  • It become more significant since India and China have had very few bilateral meetings post the 2020 stand-off at the Line of Actual Control (LAC).
  • The presence of Russian President Vladimir Putin at either the SCO summit or the G-20 summit becomes highly crucial amidst the war in Ukraine.
  • It is also the first SCO summit that Iran will attend as a full member of the grouping.

Source “Pakistan Prime Minister to be invited for SCO summit

For more updates, click here