Bihar Elections 2020

#GS2 #Governance #Elections

  • Elections in the state of BiharIndia are conducted in accordance with the Constitution of India
  • The Assembly of Bihar creates laws regarding the conduct of local body elections unilaterally while any changes by the state legislature to the conduct of state level elections need to be approved by the Parliament of India.
  • Elections to the Lok Sabha, also termed as General Elections, are typically held every 5 years after the central government has completed its term. It may also be held before the completion of term if parliament is dissolved early. 
  • Similarly elections to Vidhan Sabha are conducted every five years. Last Lok Sabha election was held in 2019 and Vidhan Sabha election was held in 2015. 
  • Elections to the Rajya Sabha are held at regular interval with one third of the members retiring in a staggered manner. Members of Vidhan Sabha elect the state's representative to Rajya Sabha.


State Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) elections

  • Members of State Legislative Assembly, are elected directly by voting, from a set of candidates who stands in their respective constituencies. 
  • Every adult citizen of India can vote only in their constituency. Candidates who win the State Legislative Assemblies elections are called 'Member of Legislative Assembly' (MLA) and hold their seats for five years or until the body is dissolved by the Governor. 
  • The house meets in the respective state, on matters relating to the creation of new laws, removing or improving the existing laws that affect all citizens living in that state.
  • The total strength of each assembly depends on each State, mostly based on size and population. Similar to the Lok Sabha elections, the leader of the majority party/alliance takes oath as Chief Minister of the State.
Print Friendly and PDF
blog comments powered by Disqus