UN blacklists Pak. Taliban leader Noor Wali Mehsud


  • The Tehreek­e­Taliban Pakistan (TTP) terror group’s leader Noor Wali Mehsud has been designated as a global terrorist by the UN for participating in the financing, planning, and perpetrating acts on behalf of and in support of entities associated with al­Qaeda.
  • The UN Security Council’s 1267 ISIL and Al­Qaeda Sanctions Committee added Mehsud, 42, to the ISIL (Da’esh) and Al­Qaeda Sanctions List on Thursday, subjecting the Pakistani national to an assets freeze, travel ban and arms embargo


TTP (Tehreeke Taliban Pakistan)

  • In June 2018, Mehsud was named the leader of Tehreek­e­Taliban Pakistan, following the death of former TTP leader Maulana Fazlullah. The TTP was blacklisted by the UN on July 29, 2011, for its association with al­Qaeda.
  • Under Noor Wali’s leadership, TTP has claimed responsibility for numerous deadly terrorist attacks across Pakistan, including an attack targeting Pakistani security forces in North Waziristan in July 2019 and a bomb attack against Pakistani soldiers in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa in August 2019, the Sanctions Committee said.
  • The group had claimed responsibility for an attempted bombing in Times Square on May 1, 2010, and in April 2010 
  • It had launched a multi­pronged assault against the United States Consulate in Peshawar, killing at least six Pakistanis and wounding 20 others, the Committee added.
  • The U.S. domestically designated Noor Wali as a terrorist in September 2019


The UN Security Council and Sanction Committees:

  • The UNSC has been given the responsibility of maintaining international peace and security and has the power to achieve this objective by adopting a variety of binding measures, including sanctions.
  • Over the years, sanctions measures have evolved to adopt a more “targeted” approach to apply strictly to rogue individuals, organizations, and companies.
  • As a result, subsidiary organs with the UNSC known as sanctions committees were set up to consider the listing and delisting of suspect entities, and to monitor and implement sanctions against them.
  • Currently, there are 14 sanctions committees under the UNSC, tasked with various responsibilities such as political settlement of conflicts, nuclear non-proliferation, and counter-terrorism.the Sanctions committees comprise of all 15 members of the Security Council, and each committee is chaired by a non-permanent member on a rotational basis.
  • Blacklisting by the Security Council entails that all states are required to freeze without delay the funds and other financial assets or economic resources of designated individuals and entities


ISIL (Da-esh) and Al Qaida sanctions committee

  • It is also known as the 1267 sanctions This committee oversees sanctions measures related to individuals, entities, and groups, associated with the aforementioned organizations. The UNSC resolution 1267 was adopted unanimously on October 15, 1999.
  • The Sanctions List currently contains the names of 261 individuals and 89 entities and was last updated on 16 July 2020.
  • These sanctions would result in travel ban, assets freeze, and an arms embargo.

 Source: The Hindu

Print Friendly and PDF
blog comments powered by Disqus