1. Gender Samvaad Event
  2. Codex Alimentarius Commission (CAC)

Gender Samvaad Event

  • Recently, the Ministry of Rural Development has launched a platform called ‘Gender Samvaad’.
  • Gender Samvaad is a joint initiative of Deendayal Antyodaya Yojana-National Rural Livelihoods Mission (DAY-NRLM) and the Initiative for What Works to Advance Women and Girls in the Economy (IWWAGE) at LEAD.
Gender Samvaad event launched by Ministry of Rural Development
  • It is organized as a bi-monthly webinar that  will provide states with opportunities to exchange knowledge on:
  • Understanding gender interventions globally.
  • Creating a ‘gender knowledge repository’ with resources to design and implement gender interventions.
  • The Gender Samvaad webpage is an open knowledge repository, hosted by IWWAGE.

Deen Dayal Antyodaya Yojana - National Livelihoods Mission (DAY-NRLM)

  • Flagship scheme of Ministry of Rural Development.
  • Objective: Central Sponsored Scheme that aims at eliminating rural poverty through building strong institutions for the poor & providing livelihood to poors.
  • Centrally Sponsored Schemes are jointly funded by the Centre and states.

Initiative for What Works to Advance Women and Girls in the Economy (IWWAGE)

  • It is an initiative of LEAD, an action-oriented research centre of IFMR Society (a not for profit society registered under the Societies Act).
  • Aim: build on existing research and generate new evidence on women’s economic empowerment.
  • It is supported by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Codex Alimentarius Commission (CAC)

  • It is an intergovernmental food standards body, set up in May 1963.
  • It was established jointly by the UN’s Food and Agriculture Organisation (FAO) and the World Health Organisation (WHO), within the framework of the Joint Food Standards Programme.
  • Objective: To protect consumer’s health and ensure fair practices in food trade.
  • Members: Currently, 189 members (188 UN member countries and the European Union).
  • India became a member in 1964.
  • Timor-Leste is the latest country to join it in 2018.
  • Voluntary in nature, Codex standards can be general or specific and are recognised by WTO Agreements as reference standards for international trade and trade dispute settlement.
  • Meeting: Once a year alternating between Geneva and Rome.
  • Funding: Through regular budgets of WHO and FAO with all work subject to approval of the two governing bodies of the parent organizations.
  • Recently, the 5th session of the Codex Committee on Spices and Culinary Herbs (CCSCH) has been inaugurated inorder to harmonize Codex standards for spices products in global trade.
    • CCSCH was formed in 2013 under CAC.
Codex Alimentarius Commission (CAC) to adopt three Codex standards


Print Friendly and PDF
blog comments powered by Disqus