1. National Startup Advisory Council
  2. Electronic Visa (e-visa)

National Startup Advisory Council

Department for Promotion of Industry and Internal Trade (DPIIT) had constituted the ‘National Startup Advisory Council to drive sustainable economic growth and generate large scale employment opportunities.


  • Chairman: Minister for Commerce & Industry.
  • Convener of the Council: Joint Secretary, Department for Promotion of Industry and Internal Trade.
  • Ex-officio Members: Nominees of the concerned Ministries/Departments/Organisations not below the rank of Joint Secretary.
  • Non-official members, to be nominated by the Central Government, from various categories like founders of successful startups, veterans who have grown and scaled companies in India, persons capable of representing the interests of investors into startups, etc.
  • The term of the non-official members will be for a period of two years.


  • Foster a culture of innovation amongst citizens and students in particular.
  • Promote innovation in all sectors of the economy across the country, including semi-urban and rural areas
  • Facilitate public organizations to assimilate innovation with a view to improving public service delivery
  • Promote creation, protection and commercialization of intellectual property rights
  • Provide access to global markets for Indian startups.

Electronic Visa (e-visa)

  • The India e-Visa is an electronic authorization to travel to India for business, tourism, or medical visits.
  • It was introduced by the Narendra Modi government in 2014.
  • An e-visa is provided in five categories — tourist, business, conference, medical, and medical attendant.
  • The e-visa is a regular visa issued electronically.
  • The Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) has restored the electronic visa (e-visa) facility for foreigners from 156 countries, who intend to visit India for the purposes of business, conferences, and for medical reasons, including in the case of medical attendants.
  • Though the facility is available to 171 countries, after restrictions were announced in 2020,China, the U.K., Canada, Hong Kong, Indonesia, Iran, Malaysia and Saudi Arabia are notable exclusions.
How to get an e-Visa to India online: Step-by-step guide


Print Friendly and PDF
blog comments powered by Disqus