The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi has greeted the people of Sikkim on their Statehood Day.


  • Sikkim is located in the northeastern part of the country, in the eastern Himalayas and is one of the smallest states in India.
  • Capital: Gangtok.
    • Borders: Tibet Autonomous Region of China to the north and northeast, Bhutan to the southeast, Indian state of West Bengal to the south and Nepal to the west.
    • Sikkim is of great political and strategic importance for India because of its location along several international boundaries.
    • Sikkim became a protectorate of India in 1950 following the Indo-Sikkimese Treaty, with India assuming responsibility for the external relations, defence and strategic communications of Sikkim.
    • Sikkim became the 22nd state of India on 16th May 1975, following a statehood demand from the political leaders.
    • The Namgyal dynasty ruled Sikkim until 1975.
    • Mount Kanchenjunga, India’s highest peak and the world’s third highest mountain lies in Sikkim.
    • The Kanchenjunga National Park (KNP) (established in 1977), near the peak is among the largest of India’s high-elevation conservation areas.
    • KNP was designated a World Heritage Site in 2016 under the ‘mixed’ category (sites containing elements of both natural and cultural significance). 
    • Sikkim is drained by the Teesta river and its tributaries such as the Rangit, Lhonak, Talung and Lachung.
    • Teesta river water conflict is one of the most contentious issues between India and Bangladesh.
    • Teesta river is a tributary of Brahmaputra river.
Print Friendly and PDF
blog comments powered by Disqus