Official languages in Jammu and Kashmir 

#GS2 #Constitution #Laws #OfficialLanguage 

The Union Cabinet has approved a Bill to include Kashmiri, Dogri and Hindi as official languages in the newly-created Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir. 

  • Only English and Urdu were official languages in the erstwhile State. 
  • The Cabinet had approved the Jammu and Kashmir Official Languages Bill to be introduced in Parliament to make Urdu, Kashmiri, Dogri, Hindi and English official languages for the Union Territory. 

Official Language  

  • Part XVII of the Indian constitution deals with the official languages in Articles 343 to 351. 
  • The Constitutional provisions related to the Eighth Schedule are – Article 344: Article 344(1) provides for the constitution of a Commission by the President on expiration of five years from the commencement of the Constitution. Article 351: It provides for the spread of the Hindi language to develop it so that it may serve as a medium of expression for all the elements of the composite culture of India. 
  • The Eighth Schedule to the Constitution consists of the following 22 languages: (1) Assamese, (2) Bengali, (3) Gujarati, (4) Hindi, (5) Kannada, (6) Kashmiri, (7) Konkani, (8) Malayalam, (9) Manipuri, (10) Marathi, (11) Nepali, (12) Oriya, (13) Punjabi, (14) Sanskrit, (15) Sindhi, (16) Tamil, (17) Telugu, (18) Urdu (19) Bodo, (20) Santhali, (21) Maithili and (22) Dogri. 
  • Originally, 14 languages were included in the Constitution. Bodo, Dogri, Maithili, and Santhali were the most recent addition to the list by 92nd Amendment Act of 2003. 
  • 96th Constitutional Amendment Act of 2011 changed the name of ‘Odia’ to ‘Oriya’. 
Print Friendly and PDF
blog comments powered by Disqus