National List of Intangible Cultural Heritage 

#GS1 #Heritage #Culture 

Union  Minister for Culture launched the National List of Intangible Cultural Heritage (ICH) of India, which aims to raise awareness about various intangible cultural heritage elements from different states of India, at national and international level and ensure their protection. 

  • This initiative is also a part of the Vision 2024 of the Ministry of Culture. 
  • Following UNESCO’s 2003 Convention for Safeguarding of Intangible Cultural Heritage, this list has been classified into five broad domains in which intangible cultural heritage is manifested: 
  • Oral traditions and expressions, including language as a vehicle of the intangible cultural heritage; 
  • Performing arts; 
  • Social practices, rituals and festive events; 
  • Knowledge and practices concerning nature and the universe; 
  • Traditional craftsmanship. 
  • The present items in the list have been collated from the projects sanctioned under the scheme for ‘Safeguarding the Intangible Cultural Heritage and Diverse Cultural Traditions of India’ formulated by the Ministry of Culture in 2013.  
  • As of now the list has more than 100 elements, It also includes the 13 elements of India that have already been inscribed on the UNESCO Representative List of the Intangible Cultural Heritage of Humanity. 
Print Friendly and PDF
blog comments powered by Disqus