National Investigation Agency (NIA)

#GS2 #Governance


The Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA) has sanctioned the three additional branches of the National Investigation Agency (NIA) which will be located at Chennai, Imphal, and Ranchi.

  • According to the statement by the National Investigation Agency (NIA), this decision of the Government of India will help in ensuring quick response to any situation of emergency in the concerned states by the premier anti-terror investigation agency of India.



  • The establishment of additional three branches of the National Investigation Agency (NIA) in Chennai, Imphal, and Ranchi will strengthen NIA’s capability in the investigation of the terrorism-related cases as well as other National Security matters.
  • The additional three branches will also be facilitating the timely collection of evidence and crucial information related to such offenses.
  • Why has Government decided to open three additional branches of NIA?
  • Indian government’s decision to open additional three branches of NIA will help in accomplishing its main vision which is to effectively fight against the scourge of terrorism and to strengthen the anti-terror response framework of the country.


9 branches of NIA:

  • Presently, there are 9 branches of National Investigation Agency (NIA) which are located at:

•  Guwahati

•  Jammu

•  Mumbai

•  Kolkata

•  Kochi

•  Hyderabad

•  Raipur

•  Lucknow

•  Chandigarh


About National Investigation Agency:

  • It is a central agency which has been established by the Indian Government to combat and deal with terrorist activities in India. 
  • It came into existence with the enactment of the National Investigation Agency Act 2008 by the Indian Parliament on December 31, 2008. It was passed after the deadly 26/11 terror attack in Mumbai.
  • With its headquarter in New Delhi, NIA is empowered to deal with the terror-related crimes across states without any special permission from the state governments.
Print Friendly and PDF
blog comments powered by Disqus