Indian grey wolf sighted for the first time in Chamarajanagar

#GS3 #WildLife #GS2 #Acts

  • The Cauvery Wildlife Sanctuary has stumbled upon an Indian grey wolf (Canis lumpus pallipes), in what is reckoned to be its first-ever documentation in Chamarajanagar district.
  • Previous studies in the district undertaken in Cauvery and M.M. Hills wildlife sanctuaries, BRT Tiger Reserve, and Bandipur Tiger Reserve had not documented the Indian grey wolf.
  • What is significant is that this indicates the presence of all four large canid species found in southern India (dhole, Indian wolf, jackal, and Bengal fox) in Chamarajanagar.
  • In Karnataka, the wolf is found in isolated pockets in the drier areas, including Haveri, Koppal, Tumakuru, Raichur, and Ballari. 
  • A highly endangered and threatened Indian grey wolf species mostly survives on grasslands, scrub forests, and rarely in dry deciduous forests.
  • Though the species is distributed widely, it is threatened largely because of habitat loss and retaliatory killing. 
  • Indian wolf numbers are suspected to be lower than that of tigers. 
  • They are protected under Schedule I of the Wildlife Protection Act, 1972.

Wildlife Protection Act, 1972

  • The Wildlife Protection Act, 1972 is an Act of the Parliament of India enacted for protection of plants and animal species. 
  • Before 1972, India had only five designated national parks
  • Among other reforms, the Act established schedules of protected plant and animal species; hunting or harvesting these species was largely outlawed. 
  • The Act provides for the protection of wild animals, birds and plants; and for matters connected there with or ancillary or incidental thereto. 
  • It extends to the whole of India. It has six schedules which give varying degrees of protection. 
  • Schedule I and part II of Schedule II provide absolute protection - offences under these are prescribed the highest penalties. 
  • Species listed in Schedule III and Schedule IV are also protected, but the penalties are much lower. 
  • Schedule V includes the animals which may be hunted.
  • The specified endemic plants in Schedule VI are prohibited from cultivation and planting. 
  • The hunting to the Enforcement authorities have the power to compound offences under this Schedule (i.e. they impose fines on the offenders). 
  • The "Wild Life (Protection) Act, 1972" was enacted by the Parliament of India in order to conserve animals, birds, plants and the matters connected therewith in 1972. 
Print Friendly and PDF
blog comments powered by Disqus