Eurasian Group on Combating Money Laundering and Financing of Terrorism 

#GS3 #Economy #Terrorism 

Indian officials have attended the virtual 32nd special Eurasian Group on Combating Money Laundering and Financing of Terrorism (EAG) plenary meeting, under the aegis of the Financial Action Task Force. 

  • The EAG is a regional body comprising nine countries – India, Russia, China, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Belarus. 
  • It is an associate member of the FATF. 

About FATF 

  • The Financial Action Task Force (FATF) is the global money laundering and terrorist financing watchdog.  
  • The inter-governmental body sets international standards that aim to prevent these illegal activities and the harm they cause to society.  
  • As a policy-making body, the FATF works to generate the necessary political will to bring about national legislative and regulatory reforms in these areas. 
  • With more than 200 countries and jurisdictions committed to implementing them.   
  • The FATF has developed the FATF Recommendations, or FATF Standards, which ensure a co-ordinated global response to prevent organised crime, corruption and terrorism.  
  • They help authorities go after the money of criminals dealing in illegal drugs, human trafficking and other crimes.   
  • The FATF also works to stop funding for weapons of mass destruction. 
  • The FATF reviews money laundering and terrorist financing techniques and continuously strengthens its standards to address new risks, such as the regulation of virtual assets, which have spread as cryptocurrencies gain popularity.   
  • The FATF monitors countries to ensure they implement the FATF Standards fully and effectively, and holds countries to account that do not comply. 
Print Friendly and PDF
blog comments powered by Disqus