Eight States get new Governors-Amid Cabinet reshuffle



  • Ahead of a much-anticipated Cabinet reshuffle, the Rashtrapati Bhavan on Tuesday announced a slew of gubernatorial appointments, including that of Union Minister for Social Justice and Empowerment Thawarchand Gehlot as the Governor of Karnataka, replacing Vajubhai Vala.
  • The Rashtrapati Bhavan recently announced a slew of gubernatorial (related to governor) appointments.  

Important announcements by the cabinet:

  • The announcement includes the Union Minister for Social Justice and Empowerment because the Governor of Karnataka
  • Several Governors saw a change in States.
  • The Council of Ministers has around 28 vacancies, with only 53 of the 81 slots allowed under the Constitution occupied.
  • The government has also decided to make a separate Ministry of Cooperation with the aim of ‘Sahkar se Samriddhi’ (prosperity through cooperatives).
  • The Ministry will provide a separate administrative, legal and policy framework for strengthening the cooperative movement in the country.
  • It will work to streamline the processes for simple doing business for cooperatives and enable the event of multi-State cooperative societies.
Union Cabinet Expansion soon, President appoints new Governors for 8 states  + Photograph, Government News, ET Government


The Council of Ministers (CoM) at Union:

  • Article 74 mentions that the council are going to be headed by the Prime Minister of India and can aid and advise the President.
  • Article 75 mentions the following things:
  • They are appointed by the President on the recommendation of the Prime Minister.
  • They along with the Prime Minister of India form 15% of the entire strength of the lower house i.e. Lok Sabha. (The number cannot exceed 15%)
  • The ceiling of 15% (Article 75 (1A)) was introduced by the 91st constitution amendment act of 2003.
  • It also provided for the disqualification of the minister when he stands disqualified as a member of Parliament. (Difference between Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha are often mentioned in the linked article.)
  • A Minister ceased to exist as one if he's not a member of either house of Parliament for 6 consecutive months.
  • Parliament decides the salary and allowances of the council of ministers.
  • The CoM advice is binding on the President and this provision was introduced by the 42nd Amendment Act 1976 and 44th Amendment Act 1978.  

Three categories of CoM:

Cabinet: They attend cabinet meetings and play a crucial role in central government.

  • The cabinet is an extra-constitutional body based upon conventions.
  • The cabinet isn’t mentioned within the original text of the constitution but only within the 44th amendment, it had been inserted in article 352.
  • Cabinet ministers also are a part of cabinet committees that are created to sort out issues or make policy recommendations to the cabinet.
  • It is the supreme policy-making, highest decision-making & supreme executive body of the central government.
  • Minister of state: they will be independent in charge of departments that aren’t attached to cabinet ministries or in charge of a specific department part of a ministry /specific work in a ministry that's headed by a cabinet minister.

Deputy Minister: they're attached to cabinet ministers or ministers of state and assist them in their work.

The last two categories don’t form a part of cabinet meetings.

Kitchen Cabinet:

  • It is an extra-constitutional body consisting of the PM and 2-4 influential colleagues in whom he has faith and with whom he can discuss every problem.
  • It may incorporates outsiders also like family & friends.  
  • Also exists in the US & Britain.

Appointment of Governors:

  • The Governor of a State is appointed by the President of India. so as to become a Governor, an individual must have the subsequent qualifications. He/She:  
  • must be a citizen of India,  
  • must be a minimum of 35 years old, and  
  • should not hold any office of profit during his/her tenure.  
  • If an individual may be a member of either the House of the Parliament or the Legislature of a State, or a member of the Council of Ministers at the national or the state level and is appointed as Governor, he/she resigns that post.  
  • The Governor is appointed for a term of 5 years but normally holds office during the pleasure of the President.  
  • The pleasure of the President means the Governor could also be removed by the President even before the expiry of his/her term.  
  • He/She can also resign earlier.  
  • However, actually , while appointing or removing the Governor, the President goes by the recommendation of the Prime Minister.

Role of Governor:

Article 163: The Constitution envisages that the Governor acts on the aid and advice of the Council of Ministers, except in those situations during which s/he is, by or under the Constitution, required to act in his discretion.  

Formation of new Ministry:

  • The Government of India (Allocation of Business) Rules, 1961 are made by the President of India under Article 77 of the Constitution for the allocation of business of the govt. of India.
  • The Ministries/Departments of the govt are created by the President on the recommendation of the Prime Minister under these Rules.
  • The business of the govt. is transacted in the Ministries/Departments, Secretariats and offices (referred to as 'Department') as per the distribution of subjects laid out in these Rules.
  • Each of the Ministries is assigned to a Minister by the President on the recommendation of the Prime Minister.
  • Each department is usually under the charge of a Secretary to help the Minister on policy matters and general administration.




Print Friendly and PDF
blog comments powered by Disqus