Different Gallantry Awards given by the Indian Government

Information on the Gallantry Awards:

  • The Gallantry Awards were established by the Indian government to recognize the bravery and sacrifice of officers and civilians in the Armed Forces, other constitutionally formed Forces, and citizens.
  • Gallantry awards come in a variety of shapes and sizes, and are given out twice a year, first on Republic Day and again on Independence Day.

Gallantry awards are divided into two categories:

  • Valour in the Face of an Enemy Gallantry Awards
  • Gallantry Awards Other than in the Face of an Enemy Gallantry Awards

The following awards are included in the first category of gallantry awards:

  • PVC (param Vir Chakra), MVC (Mahavir Chakra), Vir Chakra
  • The Param Vir Chakra is followed by the Ashoka Chakra, Mahavir Chakra, Kirti Chakra, Vir Chakra, and Shaurya Chakra in that order.

The awards in the second category of gallantry awards are:

  • Ashok Chakra (Ashok Chakra);
  • Kirti Chakra (Kirti Chakra);
  • Chakra Shaurya (Chakra Shaurya)
  • The Government of India established the first three gallantry awards, the Param Vir Chakra, Maha Vir Chakra, and Vir Chakra, on January 26, 1950, and they were proclaimed to have taken effect on August 15, 1947.
  • On January 4, 1952, with effect from August 15, 1947, the Government of India instituted three new gallantry medals, the Ashoka Chakra Class-I, Ashoka Chakra Class-II, and Ashoka Chakra Class-III.
  • These awards were renamed the Ashoka Chakra, Kirti Chakra, and Shaurya Chakra in January 1967.

Source : THE HINDU. 


Print Friendly and PDF
blog comments powered by Disqus