Delimitation Commission  

#GS2 #Polity&Governance 

New office premises for Delimitation Commission was opened by Justice Mrs. Ranjana Desai, Chairperson, Delimitation Commission. 

  • Delimitation Commission has already started functioning since March, 2020.  
  • Lok Sabha Speaker has nominated the Associate Members of Delimitation Commission for the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir along with Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland and Manipur under Article 5 of the Delimitation Act, 2002. 
  • It has held four formal meetings as yet. All Associate Members have already been nominated for each State/ Union Territory concerned.  
  • The Commission has kept 15th June 2020 as the date for freezing of administrative districts in these States/ UTs. Data collection work has also been completed.  
  • With the opening of this new office, it is hoped that formal deliberations with Associate Members would start soon to expedite the process of delimitation as envisaged. 

About Delimitation Commission 

  • Delimitation means the act or process of fixing limits or boundaries of territorial constituencies in a country or a province having a legislative body.  
  • The job of delimitation is assigned to a high power body and such a body is known as Delimitation Commission or a Boundary Commission.  
  • In India, Delimitation Commissions have been constituted 4 times in 1952 under the Delimitation Commission Act, 1952, in 1963 under Delimitation Commission Act, 1962, in 1973 under Delimitation Act, 1972 and in 2002 under Delimitation Act, 2002.  
  • The Delimitation Commission in India is a high power body whose orders have the force of law and cannot be called in question before any court and these orders come into force on a date to be specified by the President of India on his behalf. 
  • The copies of its orders are laid before the House of the People (Lok Sabha)and the State Legislative Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) of the concerned state but no modifications are permissible therein by them. 
Print Friendly and PDF
blog comments powered by Disqus